P

ennsylvania Council of Teachers of Mathematics

an affiliate of www.NCTM.org

Click the Constitution & Minute menu above to review the proposed changes to the PCTM Constitution.  The proposed changes will be voted on during the general membership meeting at our annual conference in August.

Special thanks to our Sponsors

 

Algebra By Hand

Dinah Zikes

Eduspire

Get More Math

Geyer Instructional

Math Olympiad

Moody's MegaMath Challenge

Nancy Belkov, author

NCTM

Perfection Learning

Pride of the Susquehanna

The Sum of Which

MathHot - time Summer in the City

66th Annual Conference, August 2-3,  2017

 

It's not too late to make your plans to attend the Pennsylvania state math conference this year.

 

Click here to register.

 

Click here to go to the conference keynote schedule and links for downloads or click here to download a pdf file.

MathHot - time Summer in the City

 

Our current vendors who plan to attend as of July 3, 2017:

 

Algebra By Hand,

Michael Eiseman, mrmike@algebrabyhand.com

 

Big Ideas Learning,

Jon Wolff, jwolff@larsontexts.com

 

Carnegie Learning Inc.,

Tony DePalma and Regis D’Angelo, rdangely@carnegielearning.com

 

Cengage/National Geographic Learning,

Allison Looslie, bernadette.dolan@cengage.com

 

CPM Eductional Program,

Tim Scripko, timscripko@cpm.org

 

Eduspire,

Andy Rishel, andyrishel@eduspire.org

 

Get More Math, Inc.,

Erica Martin, erica@getmoremath.com

 

Geyer Instructional Products,

Brett Schwartz, info@geyerinstructional.com

 

Great Minds,

LLC, Tanika J. Majette, Tanika.majette@greatminds.org

 

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Company,

Mike Lewis, Michael.Lewis@hmhco.com

 

Kades-Margolis Corporation,

Jerry Beck, ashaiko@4kmc.com

 

Liberty Mutual Insurance,

Ashley Burgett, Ashley.burgett@libertymutual.com

 

 

Vendors, the Link is now open for our Sixty-Sixth annual Conference. The conference is being held at the Hilton Harrisburg.

To the Vendor signup page

MathHot - time Summer in the City

 

Our current vendors who plan to attend as of July 3, 2017:

 

Matific,

Fred Wolfe, fred@matific.com

 

NCTM,

www.nctm.org

 

MOEMS-Math Olympiad,

Dorthy Hess, hdorothy@aol.com

 

Nasco Education,

Walt Coatsworth, wcoatsworth@enasco.com

 

Pearson,

Scott Walker, Scott.Walker@pearson.com

 

Perfection Learning,

Amanda Schaeffer, aschaeffer@perfectionlearning.com

 

Sadlier, Inc.,

Cherie Moats, cmoats@sadlier.com

 

SumBlox,

David Skaggs, dskaggs@sumblox.com

 

Texas Instruments,

Dana Morse, dmorse@ti.com

 

The Sum of Which,

Becky Duprey, Thesumofwhich@gmail.com

 

Think Through Math,

Bryan Lepri, blepri@thinkthroughmath.com

 

You Can Do the RUbik's® Cube,

Nicole Reppert, repnic@share.wilsonsd.org

 

Special Guest speaker.

Secretary Pedro A. Rivera, Secretary of Education

Thursday, August 3

 10:15 am to 11:00 am

 

Pedro A. Rivera was nominated by Governor Tom Wolf to serve as the Secretary of Education on January 20, 2015, and was confirmed by the state Senate in June 2015.  He most recently served as Superintendent of The School District of Lancaster.  Under Rivera's leadership, The School District of Lancaster developed and implemented a new curriculum, an aggressive professional development plan, and innovative teacher observation tools.  Prior to serving as superintendent of The School District of Lancaster, he served as a classroom teacher, staff member with the Philadelphia Federation of Teachers, assistant principal, principal, and executive director for the School District of Philadelphia.

 

Rivera was raised in the Hunting Park section of North Philadelphia and resides in Lancaster with his wife Erika, son Lucas and daughter Elena.

Keynote Speaker:  Matthew R. Larson

President, National Council of Teachers of Mathematics

 

A Brief History of Mathematics:

Lesson for Today.

 

Wednesday, August 2, 2017.

 

11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

 

 

Keynote Speaker:  Christopher Brueningsen

The Changing Landscape of Mathematics Education.

 

 

Thursday, August 3, 2017.

 

9:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The 2017 Spring addition of the PCTM Magazine is here.  Log in to the member section for the full magazine.  Click here for a sample of the Spring 2017 Sampler

proud sponsor of the annual 2017 PA  Statistics Competition,

visit them at http://francis.edu/pa-statistics-poster-competition/  or https://www.facebook.com/SFUScienceOutreachCenter